Explore the story of Wollaton Hall and its beautiful gardens.
Wollaton Hall was built in 1580-1588 for Sir Francis Willoughby and was designed by Robert Smythson. The park and gardens were developed between 1687 and 1800, with the construction of the lake taking place between 1774 and 1785.
Discover the recent findings from our annual training dig in the formal gardens. searching for evidence of buildings and garden features depicted on 17th century paintings of the Hall and developing a new understanding of how the park might have looked in the post medieval period.